Max Delbrück

The Society for Genetics honors deserving geneticists with the Max Delbrück Lecture, which is held as part of the annual meetings. It is named after Max Delbrück (1906-1981), who is considered one of the founders of modern molecular genetics and was awarded the Nobel Prize in Physiology and Medicine in 1969 together with Alfred D. Hershey and Salvador E. Luria “for their discoveries of the replication mechanism and the genetic structure of viruses”.

Award winners


Emmanuelle Charpentier:

CRISPR/Cas – a bacterial adaptive immune system


Klaus-Armin Nave:

Functions of Oligodendrocytes in the axonal energy metabolism


Heinz Sädler:

History and future of genetically modified crop plant


Bernhard Horsthemke:

Imprinting disorders – what have we learned from studying patients and what can we offer them?


Herbert Jäckle:

Learning from flies – from body patterning to human health